Big Ten

A proud member of the Big Ten Conference, Michigan State University and its sister universities make a big impact—in partnerships and individually—in their communities, across the nation, and around the world.

The 14 outstanding institutions of the Big Ten Conference, which was formed nearly 120 years ago, share values and goals that focus on high academic standards while supporting athletic excellence and celebrating student-athlete accomplishments.

Big Ten Highlights

With a total of nearly six million alumni around the world and annual research and development expenditures of more than $10 billion, Big Ten universities are a force for good. Learn more about the impact of Big Ten universities.

  • Big Ten institutions are ranked among the top 86 universities in the nation according to the 2013 Academic Ranking of World Universities.
  • The Big Ten leads all conferences with more than 1,600 Academic All-Americans, including 40 in the last academic year.
  • The conference launched the first national conference-owned television network in 2007—the Big Ten Network, which now reaches 60 million homes across the United States and Canada.
  • The Big Ten was the first conference to address the historical imbalance in male and female student-athlete participation in intercollegiate athletics and to voluntarily adopt participation goals for female student-athletes.
  • Big Ten teams claimed seven national championship titles during the 2013–14 season.
  • Over the last 10 years, current Big Ten institutions have won national titles in 18 sports, including: basketball, bowling, cross country, fencing, field hockey, golf, gymnastics, ice hockey, indoor track and field, lacrosse, pistol, rowing, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, synchronized swimming, volleyball, and wrestling.
  • The Big Ten has some of the nation’s most supportive fans, with more than 10 million patrons attending conference home contests during the 2013–14 seasons for men’s basketball, hockey, volleyball, and wrestling.

MSU also is proud to be a member of the following organizations

Association of American Universities (AAU)

The Association of American Universities is a prestigious group of 62 public and private research universities in the United States and Canada widely regarded as among the top research-intensive institutions in North America. Members of the AAU are leaders in innovation, scholarship, and solutions that help society’s overall well-being.

Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC)

The Committee on Institutional Cooperation includes 15 world-class research universities—the 14 member universities of the Big Ten Conference and the University of Chicago. Together, CIC universities create unique experiences for students and faculty and support each other by sharing expertise, campus resources, and innovative program information.

Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU)

The nation’s pioneer land-grant institution, Michigan State University is a member of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. APLU’s 238 members include public and land-grant universities, state university systems, and higher education-related organizations. Together, the members work to advance learning, discovery, and engagement.

Logo for BTN live BIG.
For another look at how the Spartan community is making an impact on the world, be sure to tune into the Big Ten Network’s “BTN LiveBIG” series.

Big Ten Members

Logo: Illinois.Logo: Indiana University.Logo: University of Iowa.Logo: University of Maryland.Logo: University of Michigan.Logo: University of Minnesota.Logo: Michigan State University.Logo: Nebraska.Logo: Northwestern University.Logo: Ohio State.Logo: Penn State.Logo: Purdue University.Logo: Rutgers.Logo: University of Wisconsin.