Presidential Transition

Presidential Transition Advisory Committee

A Presidential Transition Advisory Committee has been formed to ensure a smooth transition for President-designee Samuel L. Stanley Jr. as he joins the Spartan community Aug. 1.

The committee, led by Mike Zeig, chief of staff for the Office of the President, will provide background and advice on university functions and structure. Made up of members of the Presidential Search Committee, as well as other campus leaders, the committee will begin meeting this month.

Committee Members

Mike Zeig, chief of staff, Office of the President

Meagan Abel, president, Council of Graduate Students

Debra Bittner, president, Coalition of Labor Organizations at Michigan State University

Pero Gaglo Dagbovie, University Distinguished Professor of history and associate dean, Graduate School

Prabu David, dean, College of Communication Arts and Sciences

Mary Finn, director and professor, School of Criminal Justice

Thomas Glasmacher, laboratory director and project director, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams and University Distinguished Professor

Mario Kakos, president, Associated Students of Michigan State University

Leo Kempel, dean, College of Engineering

Bonnie Knutson, professor, School of Hospitality Business

Wanda Lipscomb, associate professor, Department of Psychiatry, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion, College of Human Medicine

Gregory J. Spray, doctoral candidate, Department of Communicative Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication Arts and Sciences

Satish Udpa, acting president, Michigan State University

Kathleen M. Wilbur, executive vice president for Government, Communications and Advancement

Felicia Wu, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition and Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics

June Pierce Youatt, provost and executive vice president, Academic Affairs

Stanley was chosen as the 21st president in June after a yearlong, national search that included input via 22 campuswide input sessions