Search Committee Members

The Presidential Search Committee is comprised of a diverse group of 10 women and eight men, a representative cross-section from within the university as well as members with unique backgrounds and experiences. These individuals assist in the presidential search, which will be guided by transparency and feedback from faculty, staff, students and alumni. Input from stakeholders gathered from meetings and through the online comments will help committee members shape the criteria for the experience and characteristics sought in MSU’s next leader.

Final authority to elect a president of the university rests with the Board of Trustees.


To protect the integrity of the process, members of the Presidential Search Committee are bound by an agreement to confidentiality (.pdf) and code of ethics. In light of this, all media inquiries should be directed to the chairs of the committee, or to Emily Guerrant, vice president and MSU spokesperson, at (517) 353-7077 or

Search Firm

Storbeck-Pimentel is the search firm leading the MSU presidential search and Shelly Storbeck is the lead consultant working with the search committee. 

Committee Co-Chairs

Dianne Byrum, MSU Board of Trustees

Melanie Foster, MSU Board of Trustees 

Adviser to Co-Chairs

Teresa A. Sullivan, past president, University of Virginia 

Committee Members

Debra Bittner, president, Coalition of Labor Organizations at Michigan State University

Pero Gaglo Dagbovie, University Distinguished Professor of history and associate dean, Graduate School

Prabu David, dean, College of Communication Arts and Sciences

Mary Finn, director and professor, School of Criminal Justice

Thomas Glasmacher, laboratory director and project director, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams and University Distinguished Professor

Linda Hubbard, president and COO, Carhartt, Inc.

Dan Kelly, Board of Trustees

Leo Kempel, dean, College of Engineering

Bonnie Knutson, professor, School of Hospitality Business

Wanda Lipscomb, associate professor, Department of Psychiatry, senior associate dean for Diversity & Inclusion, College of Human Medicine

Mark A. Murray, past-president, Grand Valley State University

David L. Porteous, Board of Directors of Huntington Bancshares Inc. and past MSU Board of Trustee

Katherine Rifiotis, president, Associated Students of Michigan State University

Brianna T. Scott, Board of Trustees

Gregory J. Spray, doctoral candidate, Department of Communicative Sciences and Disorders, College of Communication Arts and Sciences

Felicia Wu, John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition and Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics