Ann E. Austin

Ann E.  Austin
  • University Distinguished Professor
  • Interim Dean, College of Education
  • Educational Administration


Ann E. Austin is a University Distinguished Professor, Interim Dean of the College of Education, and professor of Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education (HALE). She also has twice been selected to hold the Mildred B. Erickson Distinguished Chair. 

Austin’s research concerns include: faculty careers, professional development, and doctoral education; teaching, learning and organizational change in higher education; reform in STEM education; equity and inclusion in academe; and higher education in the international context.

She is a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and a past-president of the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE). She was a Fulbright Fellow in South Africa in 1998. 

She is a founding co-PI of the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL), funded by the National Science Foundation, and was the principal investigator of an NSF-funded ADVANCE PAID grant to study organizational change strategies that support the success of women scholars in STEM fields. She has recently received two new National Science Foundation grants, one to study organizational networks fostering reform in undergraduate education and one to study organizational efforts to develop new approaches to teaching evaluation in higher education.

Austin is a widely published author, including Faculty Development in the Age of Evidence: Current Practices, Future Imperatives (2016); Rethinking Faculty Work: Higher Education’s Strategic Imperative (2007) and Educating Integrated Professionals: Theory and Practice on Preparation for the Professoriate (2008), among other publications. In 2011, she wrote a commissioned paper for the Board on Science Education of the National Research Council entitled: Promoting Evidence-Based Change in Undergraduate Science Education.

Her work is internationally known. She has worked with colleagues at the national and institutional levels on higher education issues in a number of countries, including Australia, China, Egypt, Finland, India, Oman, Thailand, the Philippines, and others.