Raymond L. Brock

Raymond L.  Brock
  • University Distinguished Professor
  • Physics and Astronomy


Raymond “Chip” Brock, professor of physics, is a prominent leader and educator in the field of particle physics. He has been a long-standing member of several prestigious experimental collaborations, including the ATLAS collaboration at CERN, the European Center for Nuclear Research, and the DØ collaboration at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. Brock is a faculty member in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and served as chair from 1992-2000.
Brock received his B.S. in electrical engineering from Iowa State University, his M.S. in physics and the philosophy of science from Northern Illinois University, and his Ph.D. in theoretical and experimental elementary particle physics from Carnegie-Mellon University. Before joining MSU in 1982, he conducted postdoctoral work at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, Illinois.
Brock’s lasting contributions to particle physics include leadership in physics analysis, detector construction, mentoring of dozens of Ph.D. graduate students and postdocs, and serving as the long-time principle investigator of continuously funded MSU particle physics grants from the National Science Foundation. His service to his community is evidenced by leadership in scientific organizations, including serving as chair of the Division of Particles and Fields of the American Physical Society (APS) in 2010 and chair of the U.S. ATLAS Institutional Board from 2014-15. He is an APS Fellow and has authored or co-authored more than 1,000 publications in experimental and theoretical particle physics. Brock’s outstanding teaching in physics throughout his career earned him the Department of Physics and Astronomy Osgood Award for Undergraduate Teaching, and the MSU Distinguished Faculty and Teacher-Scholar Awards.