Thomas W. Hamann

Thomas W.  Hamann
  • The James L. Dye Endowed Chair in Materials Chemistry
  • Established through gifts from alumni and friends in honor of Dr. James Dye
  • Chemistry


Thomas W. Hamann, associate professor and James L. Dye Chair in Materials Chemistry, is an internationally recognized expert in the area of solar energy conversion. Hamann leads a group of researchers investigating new methods and materials for utilizing sunlight to produce electricity and chemical fuels. His research focuses on regenerative and non-regenerative photoelectrochemical cells and the use of ammonia as an energy carrier. 

Hamann received his undergraduate degree in chemistry from the University of Texas at Austin, his M.S. in chemistry from the University of Massachusetts and his Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology. Prior to joining MSU in 2008, Hamann spent two years as a postdoctoral fellow at Northwestern University.

Hamann is the recipient of numerous honors, including a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, an NSF CAREER award, and a Department of Energy Early Career Research Program award. In 2015, his scientific accomplishments led to his selection as a Kavli Fellow and a recipient of the Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award from the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry.