National Academy of Sciences Members

The  National  Academy  of  Sciences  is  a  private,  nonprofit  organization  of  the  country’s  leading  researchers. Election  to  membership  in  the  NAS is  a  widely  accepted  mark  of  excellence  in  science  and  is  considered one  of  the  highest  honors  that  a scientist  can  receive  in  recognition  of distinguished  and  continuing achievements  in  original  research.  Nine  of  MSU’s  current  faculty  have  been elected  to  the  NAS,  which  has more than  2,200  members.

Sheng-Yang He
Plant Biology
Plant, Soil, and Microbial Sciences
MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory

Richard Lenski
Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
Integrative Biology
Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences

Emilio Moran
Geography, Environment, and Spatial Sciences

Michael Thomashow
Director, MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory
Plant, Soil and Microbial Science
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory
MSU AgBioResearch
MSU Plant Resilience Institute

James Tiedje
Director, Center for Microbial Ecology
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Plant,
Soil and Microbial Sciences
MSU AgBioResearch


This site is updated several times a year.
Last updated: September 15, 2017